BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
BlackCan
Calcite | Level 5
Hi there,

first of all: Hello to the SAS Community, I'm new in the Data Mining Business and working with the SAS Enterprise Miner 6.1.

I want to find out what correlation there is between the monthly temperatures (degree Celsius) in Germany and the monthly sales output (capacity in tons) from a specific food-product.
I know that there are many parameters more, which influence the sales output, but for the beginning I only want to find out how powerful the parameter temperature is.

The result that i want to have is like: If the monthly temperature rises 1 degree Celsius, the sales output will rise between 1,3 and 1,9 tons.

My intention is to have an "temperature-adjustment" for the forecasting of the monthly sales output.

My course of action right now is to take sales output data and temperature data from the past (in an excel file) and import this data with the File Import Node to the Enterprise Miner. Then I correct some "critical" sales output data (I use the replacement and impute node) and run the regression node. But the result isn't very satisfying.

So do you have any tips and tricks for me to get a better result?

PS: I know that there is a correlation between the temperature and the sales output, but I don't know how powerful it is.

Thanks
BlackCan
7 REPLIES 7
David_Duling
SAS Employee
Hi there. Can you tell us more about what you mean by result was not satisfactory - poor model fit, unacceptable interpretation, bad prediction to 1 degree change, what ?
BlackCan
Calcite | Level 5
The result is not satisfactory, because my Average Squared Error is 10996,45 for train data, and 12450,12 for validation data.

My properties for the regression node are:
Regression Type: Logistic Regression
Link Function: Logic
Selection Model: Stepwise
Selection Criterion: Validation Error