BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
backstreets
Calcite | Level 5

Hi there,

I am very new to linux. And now I am using wps to convert wpd data to sas data. I got a very wide wpd dataset.

Here is the code I tried to execute:

libname out sas7bdat '/u01/mylocation';

libname in '/u01/hislocation';

data out.A;

set in.A;

run;

Here is the command I used to execute this sas code in putty:

sas convert_wpd_tosas.sas&

But the thing is, I got this error:     Floating point exception(core dumped) sas  convert_wpd_tosas.sas

I can fix this by shorting the length of the variable in the dataset. But I wonder if there is any ways to execute the command without changing the dataset.

Just an update, my log is empty. I have seen people make it work. But not really sure what command they used.

Any suggestion is appreciated!!!

12 REPLIES 12
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

New to SAS as well? The first libname statement is not valid.

If you got the same error after fixing the syntax, seeing the whole log would help.

Data never sleeps
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

You should have just gotten a new file named convert_wpd_tosas.log that would show your program and the notes and error messages from SAS.

If you got a core dump with that simple (but buggy) program then perhaps SAS is not installed right on your machine?

backstreets
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you, my log is empty. My libname is correct. I am just not typing the location. But please assume the libname is correct.

LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

It's not correct, sas7bdat is not a ´valid libname engine.

Data never sleeps
backstreets
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you. It is actually. I use this command and code on any short length variable dataset. And they all work. Sorry I am new to linux but not really new to sas

jakarman
Barite | Level 11

Back streets the first Libname is having sas7bdat after out.

That is the location for the engine. V9 v8 but not sas7bdat.

The location folder name being correct should be no issue.