BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Mixer
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi All,

I am very new to SAS and I have some tables in SAS DI under Inventory which I need to export to text file and import into MS SQL, what are the easy ways to do this? Can I create a program in SAS EG to display the data in there then export?

Thank you for your help everyone.

3 REPLIES 3
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20
To be successful in DI development I think a proper training and/or on site guidance is required. Being a skilled SAS developer helps.
Even if the documentation isn't really fit for self learning you might find some support there.

That said, the preferred way to load a SQL Server table is via a SAS/ACCESS libref.
If that isn't an option you can create the file using the File Writer transformation.
Also, when structuring your Metadata objects, it's better to work from the Folders view instead.
Data never sleeps
Mixer
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi LinusH,

Thank you for your response.

I do not have the on site guidance, basically I am on my own. What do you susgest for proper training?

SAS/ACCESS libref is not an option, so I am looking into File Writer Transformation. 

I will work on the Folders view from now on. 

Thanks again.

Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@Mixer

If you are totally new to SAS and for using DIS on a "mature" level you need to understand the SAS architecture, have SAS coding skills and DIS skills.

How to acquire these skills depends on your background (is this your first programming language or are you already experienced with other languages and tools) and on your environment (is there some experienced SAS coder which can give you guidance). 

Ideally the level you want to reach to work with DIS and to be able to fully understand, debug and optimize DIS generated SAS code:

- Understand SAS Architechture and SAS Metadata (Admin Fast Track training)

- SAS coding skills on the level Advanced SAS Programmer Certified

- Understand SAS/Access (=interfacing with data bases)