BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mcollins1264
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I am new to using SAS OLAP. I have been using SSAS for several years. I just have a few comparison questions that I am curious about:

Is it possible to have multi-fact cubes, or to link cubes together? I.E., can I make calculations that refering to measures of different granularity, like comparing customer counts to demographic houshold counts and so forth.

Also, is it posslbe to somehow do many-to-many relationships, I.E. looking at counts of auto insurance policies with certain driver charateristics. This would be like counting if x attribute exists on a lower grained dimension, count it, otherwise do not ect.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

1) I'm not sure how you want this to work Perhaps an example will clear this question.

There are not possible to link cubes together with different setup of metadata. Dimensions can be shared between cubes though. And there are some possibilities to have data stored on different levels using ROLAP structure.

2) Not sure about this one either, example? Something that might are similar is the NUNIQUE statistic. Or this could perhaps be solved by creating some MDX-expressions.

/Linus 

Data never sleeps

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

1) I'm not sure how you want this to work Perhaps an example will clear this question.

There are not possible to link cubes together with different setup of metadata. Dimensions can be shared between cubes though. And there are some possibilities to have data stored on different levels using ROLAP structure.

2) Not sure about this one either, example? Something that might are similar is the NUNIQUE statistic. Or this could perhaps be solved by creating some MDX-expressions.

/Linus 

Data never sleeps
mcollins1264
Calcite | Level 5