BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Mitreto
Fluorite | Level 6

Good afternoon all,

Please excuse me if this was already discussed, I wasn't able to find the same topic.

I'm new to the DI world and I'm working currently with SCD Type 2. May question is based on following:

the SAS doumentation says: If no differences in data are detected, then the source row is a duplicate of the target row. The source row is not loaded into the target as the new current row for that business key. The loading process moves on to the next source row.  - http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/etlug/66819/HTML/default/viewer.htm#n03673ddo0y2twn114ep...

I'm running an exercise with 2 different tables to try and track the changes, between data using beginning and end dates and current indicator.

By pure chance I ran he same table twice, based on the theory posted above no records should be inserted [or so I thought] as no changes were made / it is the same table. I should mention that there are some 5 vars that I want to track and all the rest is Type 1...

I was surprised to see that the resulting table had duplicates. The beginning / end time and current indicator aparently worked.

There is propably something that I mis-read somewhere, but should the records be duplicated?

The process flow is below. The warning is because of a different lengths - an issue for me to investigate further.

SAS SCD2.jpg

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
DavidGhan
SAS Employee