BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
cnilsen
Quartz | Level 8

Hi All.

I'm recently charged with creating a job in DI Studio (v4.901) that will use a REST transformation, an API, and return a Json file with data.

I've never done anything like this before, and the web and SAS seem limited with information about how to something similar.  

I sorta understand the concept, requests and replies with the API... codes based on success or failure.

Then using a token to actually GET my data..

Does anyone know of any resources, examples (examples would be awsome) or ways to find out more?

I'm still on the green side with my programming skills.. 

Thanks!

- Chris N.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

When you're ready for it: Using SAS to access Google Analytics APIs

It's definitely a good idea to start with something simple though, if you can. Build your confidence! 🙂

It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

This is not specific to DI Studio, but you can use PROC HTTP and the JSON libname engine (SAS 9.4m4) to fetch and process REST API data.

Here's a blog post to get you started.  I do this work with a number of REST APIs: Google Analytics, GitHub, Brightcove, Lithium.  If any of those are something you're working with, I can provide more concrete examples.

It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.
cnilsen
Quartz | Level 8

Hi Chris,

Thank you for the quick response. I was surprised at the lack of SAS related material and REST API's.