BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
woodie2905
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I have little to no experience using SAS tool, but need to modify some prewritten code to utilise my employers automation capabilities with the code.

Each morning I am required to produce a sample file and I am hoping to automate this process. There are two variables declared at the start of the SAS code:

rsubmit;

%let MinTxnDate='05MAR2018';

%let MaxExclusiveTxnDate='06MAR2018';

Further down the code proc sql is used to set filter:

select * from COMPANY.TABLE with (nolock)

where transactiondate >= &MinTxnDate.

and transactiondate < &MaxExclusiveTxnDate.

-- As things stand, I have to modify the dates each morning. The MinTxnDate should be yesterday, and Max today. Given that I want to automate this code, how would I set the MinTxnDate and Maxdate to the dates required?

Played around with eval sysdates but not having much luck, but as I say I have never used SAS before this.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

That code wouldn't work as posted, the dates wouldn't be interpreted correctly, they're being used as character values.

Here's how you could automate it to replicate what you have, assuming you missed something in the post and your code does actually work as expected. Note that I'm not saying it won't work, just not give you what you expect because it's treating the dates as characters not dates.

Use the TODAY() function to return the date and then date9. to format the date. 

%let MaxExclusiveTxnDate=%sysfunc(today(), date9.);
%let MinTxnDate=%sysfunc(putn(%sysevalf(%sysfunc(today()) - 1), date9.));

%put &MinTxnDate.;
%put &MaxExclusiveTxnDate;

@woodie2905 wrote:

Hello,

I have little to no experience using SAS tool, but need to modify some prewritten code to utilise my employers automation capabilities with the code.