BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Anya
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I'm a SAS newbie, and I have a pretty simple question:

I have about 20 data sets representing specific sections of a road network, and each have 2 columns that I am interested in: Vehicle_ID and Time_Step. At each time step (1 second), the data set lists the the vehicles which are at a particular position on that section of the road. I would like to match the Vehicle_ID in all tables and obtain the vehicles that are travelling along the entire route in the

network. For each of these vehicles, I would like to find the total travel from from the time steps. I was wondering if there is a simple way in which to filter the data in each data set to give me the

Vehicle_IDs and a count of the corresponding Time_Steps in which the vehicle appeared on the section. For example, if Vehicle 2242 was found to be in the data set at Time_Steps 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48 then it was travelling for 6 seconds on that section. Its a relatively simple calculation but I am having trouble performing the filtering on 20+ large data sets.

I would really appreciate it anyone could give me some advice on how I might be able to do this in SAS or forward my question to someone who could help me.

Thanks in advance!

Anya

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Anja,

If I understand what you've asked  correctly, I think you can do this with some simple SQL summarization functions.  For example:

select vehicle_id,count(Time_Step)

from <table>

group by vehicle_id;

This can be accomplished with the "Extract" or "SQL Join" transformations.