BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Jazzman
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi, this is (hopefully) a very basic question but I couldn't find an answer on the net. I'm a beginner regarding SAS, so these are my very first steps. 

What's the way to delete an "internal" file (i. e. a file in my user directory that I can access over a library)? I know that it is possible to delete any file via a data step with the fdelete function but you need to use the full path to the file, right?  What if I'm working with a number of data files in my SAS directory and I want to delete one of them? Is there a possibility do do so just by referencing the internal name of the file (i. e. libraryname.filename without having to include the absolute path)?

Thanks for your help!

(I'm working with SAS Studio/University Edition over a virtual machine, btw.)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
8 REPLIES 8
data_null__
Jade | Level 19

PROC DATASETS is used to manage SAS Files.  Deletion is just one many tasks PROC DATASETS can do for you.

RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Well, the chaps above have given you some good advice for removing SAS files - i.e. datasets.  Does this cover what your after, or do you mean other types of files?  Generally speaking I would be very careful about removing files using any technique - datasets for instance can be overwritten with new datasteps.  There is generally speaking, very little need to actually delete a file, most operations will overwrite a file.  So why do you need to do this (if the operation fails, or your put the wrong information in you could lose the file completely, or deleting non-SAS files could remove importatnt files.   

Kurt_Bremser
Super User