BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
toconero
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I have studied business administration and management, but now I'm working as a statistical, I use SAS in my work. I'm studying for the Base Certification SAS. I'm not good at programming. I find really difficult to understand how a Macro SAS runs.

I would like to get the Advanced Certification SAS, but I found this wall, Macros SAS.

Do you have any suggerations for me to learn Macro SAS ?

Thank you so much.

5 REPLIES 5
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

The most important thing to keep in mind: the SAS Macro Language is a tool for automated creation of program text; it is not supposed to solve things by itself, but to create code (and code snippets) that then accomplishes the desired task.

RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Its quite a simple concept at its core, imagine it as a kind of Find/Replace system.  Its basic function is to remove the need to repeat code or data items across your code.  My suggestion is to work backwards to start with, so learn Base SAS - which is the real programming language - fully.  Understand data structures and how normalised versus transposed and vice versa can work in different situtations - once you know these you will never *need* to use macro.  You may however *want* to use it in certain places, for re-useable code, or repeated code for instance.  Also, once you have a firm grasp of Base, write the code which you want to macrotize straight off, for example:

data want1;
  set sashelp.class;
run;

That will run and show we create a dataset want1 based off sashelp.class.  Now say we want five datasets - want1 want2 etc. we could copy paste this code, or we could macrotize it. 

%macro Loop (times=);
  %do i=1 %to ×
    data want&i.;
      set sashelp.class;
    run;
  %end;
%mend Loop;

%Loop (times=5);