BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
analyticalgiant
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello SAS community,

I just completed my e-learning of SAS Programming 1: Essentials course this afternoon after studying over the past 3-4 weeks. I know I learned a lot and I'm most definitely interested in pursuing my education further in SAS. However I'm interested in any tips on how I can practice what I've learned so far? As I continue to teach myself more techniques and study for the Base Exam.

And I have copies of the SAS Programming books 1-3, Enterprise Guide 1 and the Little Book of SAS.

Also, I'm a business process improvement analyst for an insurance company, have flexibility with my manager to play with many reports and see how I can improve their functionality in using SAS 9.3. Are the essentials I learned a good base of manipulating excel documents (mostly spreadsheets, pivots, graphs and some vba macros)? What should I look for?

All ideas are appreciated, thanks!

Mathieu

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

I would see if you could get a copy of SAS 9.4

Things I would suggest learning:

• PROC REPORT
  • ODS EXCEL/TAGSETS.ExcelXP
  • PROC MEANS/FREQ - how to get output in various formats
  • Data Step -> OUTPUT statement
  • Basics of Macro

For learning, I would suggest searching your topic of interest at LexJansen.com.

And last but not least, try your hand at answering questions on here. Don't look at the solutions first, but try and code it yourself. Then see what the solutions are. 1 question/20 minutes a day will have you up to speed in no time.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
beccagre
SAS Moderator

Hello,