Learning SAS? Welcome to the exclusive online community for all SAS learners.

SAS is Shifting Data to the Left

Accepted Solution Solved
New Contributor
Accepted Solution

SAS is Shifting Data to the Left

Okay, so I am a bit new to SAS and I am working on an internship project. I have a comma delimited excel file (.csv).However, where I have missing data (blank cells in excel) SAS is shifting variables to the left....I don't know if I am explaining this great....so here is the code I am using (I am leaving out the huge list of variables):

data CPH909.EMain;

infile '/folders/myfolders/CPH909/EMainTable.csv' firstobs=2 dlm=',' lrecl=32000 truncover;

length *I list all of my variables here because I need them to stay in order...but a few of them are long and need to be changed*;

input *this is where I have my huge list of variables...I double checked an they are all there and match what is in the length field above*;

run;

So, I don't get any areas, but see the attachments for what I see in excel v.s. what I see in SAS.

Any help would be highly appreciated! 

grab1.pnggrab2.png

When looking at the above data, you can see where the data has been shifted in both lines in SAS...the only reason I can think of this is that SAS is not recognizing the missing data in excel for some reason.....

Accepted Solutions
Solution
a month ago
Super User

Re: SAS is Shifting Data to the Left

[ Edited ]

First off, it is a good idea to get out of the habit of expecting Excel's display of CSV data to be "correct" or the "right way". Excel reformats values when showing the data.

You likely need the DSD option on the INFILE statement to tell SAS to read a missing value between consecutive delimiters. By default SAS treats consecutive delimiters as a "unit" or single delimiter.

View solution in original post

All Replies
Solution
a month ago
Super User

[ Edited ]