Learning SAS? Welcome to the exclusive online community for all SAS learners.

Need Solutions for Chapter 4 Question 37 in 'Exercises and Projects for The Little SAS Book'

New Contributor kbc
New Contributor

Need Solutions for Chapter 4 Question 37 in 'Exercises and Projects for The Little SAS Book'

I am new to SAS and would like to seek advice on how to read the data set in the SAS data set which looks like this:

Screenshot 2018-04-18 09.26.24.png

I have typed the following code but this results in an error below.

Screenshot 2018-04-18 09.26.47.png

Please advise how I could modify my code to read the file correctly.

Thank you!

Super User

Re: Need Solutions for Chapter 4 Question 37 in 'Exercises and Projects for The Little SAS Book'

You DO NOT read a SAS7BDAT file, you simply reference it. You may want to review Chapter 3 again, about how to work with your data. 

Screen Shot 2018-04-17 at 7.57.43 PM.png

Images for code are not particularly helpful, please post your code as text in the future. 

@kbc wrote:

I am new to SAS and would like to seek advice on how to read the data set in the SAS data set which looks like this:

Thank you!

@kbc wrote:

Thank you!

New Contributor kbc
New Contributor

Re: Need Solutions for Chapter 4 Question 37 in 'Exercises and Projects for The Little SAS Book'

Thanks for your help, could you advise how I could change my code so that the substr function could read up to 3 digits?

I have modified my code to be as such but I am unable to read the RGB code of my data set when it is less than 3 digits. RGB which are less than 3 digits appear as missing data in the output data set. 

My code is as such:

LIBNAME Crayola ‘folders/myfolders/Chapter4_data’;

DATA Crayons;

SET Crayola.Crayons;

Red = INPUT(SUBSTR(RGB, 2,3), 3.);

Blue = INPUT (SUBSTR(RGB,2,3), 3.);

Green = INPUT (SUBSTR(RGB,2,3), 3.);

PROC SORT DATA = Crayons;

BY Red Green Blue;

Thanks for your help!

Super User

Read the docs.