Learning SAS? Welcome to the exclusive online community for all SAS learners.

How to start

New Contributor

How to start

Hello,

I am going to analyze some surveys of students referred to employer branding. This is my first time using this software and I don't know what devices would bei useful for me and how I can present my results in an easy way.

Thanks for your help!

Best regards

Daniel

Super User

Re: How to start

SAS is a tool. First figure out what you want to do in terms of statistics and analytics. Look at reports from survey results and figure out what you have and what you want to achieve. Then we can help get you there, but right now that's a fairly generic topic. 

In general, you can search lexjansen.com for survey analysis and you'll find many papers written on the topic to help you get started.

If your survey has weights be sure to explore PROC SURVEYFREQ and SURVEYMEANS. In fact, I'd start off working through the base examples for each. 

Then I suspect your next challenge is going to be importing your data. 

Here's some video's that cover basic questions such as how to import an excel or csv file and how to create new variables. 

http://video.sas.com/#category/videos/how-to-tutorials

New Contributor

Thanks for your help so far. I will have a look and get some information in the guide.

If there is a question it would be kind to keep on offer solutions, also it would be easy for most of you. Next time it try to give more details.

Thanks a lot.

Have a nice day!

Best regards

Daniel

Super User

The first thing I always do with data is to examine the data. A basic tool is Proc Freq because 1) the syntax is simple for an entire data set and 2) it reports counts and percentages of values.