Learning SAS? Welcome to the exclusive online community for all SAS learners.

How to produce a graph with 3 different Y axis with SAS University edition

New Contributor

How to produce a graph with 3 different Y axis with SAS University edition

I am new to SAS Univerity edition. I am trying to learn SAS as much as possible for my PhD studies. However, I am not able to produce the graph i have attached with the file with SAS UE. It has 3 different y axis on left side. I can use Y2AXIS to use right hand side y axis, but, in case i need to draw 4 or 5 different Y axis, what will be the solution? The plot is drawn with R. I have previously used R and Veusz plotting library. I didn't find any solution for this with ODS graphics. SAS/GRAPH is absent in university edition.

fig.jpg
Super User
Super User

Re: How to produce a graph with 3 different Y axis with SAS University edition

Posted in reply to Sumansaha

Well, to be honest, I am not sure its possible.  Never seen a graph with three differing axis on one side before.  There is a very good resource at:

http://blogs.sas.com/content/graphicallyspeaking/

But a breif search and I couldn't see anything there.  Now its possible to force it somewhat, i.e. create one graph with Number of Groups, and have x axis have 9000, 8000 as ticks on X axis but not displayed.  Then overlay a line plot which has all the same X value, say 9000 for Median Group Size, and draw a line up with data points labeled to get the effect of having three Y axis.  Not sure if thats makes sense, and it would be a fair bit of work.  From looking at the figure presented however, it seems over complicated and quite confusing, e.g. Groups=6, Population=600, Median groups = 1.5 (roughly).  Would you not be better off reversing the axis, so put cal BP on the Y Axis.  Then on the X Axis have your multipe information as Sanjay demonstrates in this post: