Learning SAS? Welcome to the exclusive online community for all SAS learners.

How to Import an Excel File to SAS University Edition.

New Contributor

How to Import an Excel File to SAS University Edition.

Hi everyone,

i'm SaiSwaroop . I'm very new to SAS.

How to use SAS access interface in client applications like (SAS university edition, SAS enterpise guide).

Community Manager

Re: How to Import an Excel File to SAS University Edition.

Posted in reply to SaiSwaroop

Thanks for your question. I've moved your question to this topical forum as more experts will be able to help here.

Best,

Lainie

SAS Super FREQ

Re: How to Import an Excel File to SAS University Edition.

Posted in reply to SaiSwaroop
Hi, these are two very different interfaces. When you use Enterprise Guide, it tries to use the Microsoft ACE engine to do an import if you use the IMPORT task -- and if you have the right configuration for EG to talk to Excel using the ACE engine.

Otherwise, if you use PROC IMPORT or the LIBNAME engine, then how you do IMPORT in code will depend on the SAS/Access products you have licensed or that you have accessible.

If you are using the SAS University Edition, which is for non-commercial learning purposes only, there are some code snippets that illustrate how you use PROC IMPORT in order to import XLS or XLSX files into SAS from the University Edition interface. I know that there have been previous postings about how to do this so I think if you search for this particular interface, you will find that LIBNAME engine methods do not work with the University Edition and you will need to use PROC IMPORT. The internal SAS University Edition/SAS Studio code snippets have model code for you to use.

If you have access to SAS Enterprise Guide, why are you also using the University Edition?