Learning SAS? Welcome to the exclusive online community for all SAS learners.

Help! Selecting shared folder causes OS to revert to Ubuntu-32 from Red Hat-64

Occasional Contributor

Help! Selecting shared folder causes OS to revert to Ubuntu-32 from Red Hat-64

Hi guys,

(This is actually a re-post from , but I think I selected the wrong category/community because I haven't received any response yet.  So I hope I got it correct this time, and hopefully it reaches the people who can help me.  Oh, I'm also not sure what the "Move" option is for, I thought it would allow me to transfer my post to a different category/community, but for some reason it would not work when I clicked it.  So I'm really sorry for the redundancy of this message =S )

I'm new to SAS and virtual machines.  I followed the installation instructions to the letter but when I tried to start SAS U, the following error messages popped:

01 - VirtualBox Error In supR3HardenedWinReSpawn.png

Then this one...

02 - VirtualBox Error E_FAIL 0x80004005.png

So started over... and I noticed (after several attempts) that the problem appears to be caused by my virtual OS reverting to "Ubuntu 32-bit" every time I add a Shared Folder, but originally "Red Hat 64 bit" was selected.

You can see from these screenshots:

1. Before installation these were my settings...

A - Installation Set at Red Hat 64.png

2.  Then after installation and before selecting the Shared Folders, these settings remained...

B - After Complete Install (and before add Shared Folders) still Red Hat 64.png

3.  But then after selecting shared folders, the OS settings changed... (from "Red Hat 64" to "Ubuntu 32")

OVM VB Mgr Screen.png

4.  Then when I tried to change the OS back to Red Hat 64, oddly only 32-bit options were available... no 64-bit options!  (I was following this advice)

OVM VB Mgr Screen_GeneralSettings.png