Learning SAS? Welcome to the exclusive online community for all SAS learners.

Export dataset from SAS university edition to excel

Accepted Solution Solved
Occasional Contributor Bo7
Occasional Contributor
Accepted Solution

Export dataset from SAS university edition to excel

Hi, I'm working on my master thesis and I have to make some statistical calculations on a dataset.

However, I would like to do the statistical analysis in Excel or in Stata, because I have no programming experience whatsoever. So I can't really work with the dataset provided in SAS.

Could someone please explain to me what steps I should take to get my dataset into excel or stata? Beneath you can see what I already tried and the error messages I got when trying...

Could you maybe elaborate on what I have to do, and why exactly I have to do that?

Is it possible that the dataset is too big to export it to an excel file? I also tried to export it into a stata (dta) file, because that is the program I would like to use for my thesis research.

This is the code I tried to run:

proc export data=myfolder.ssbf03 DBMS=xls outfile="users/boclaes/Desktop/thesis.xls";

run;

Schermafbeelding 2015-03-24 om 13.00.42.png

and since I am no programming expert, I have no idea what all these error messages mean.

I tried to export to a stata file, thinking the dataset was too large for an excel file and then I got this error message:

Schermafbeelding 2015-03-24 om 13.07.23.png

Can you see what the problem is based on these error messages?

Thank you so much for your help !

Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎03-24-2015 06:14 PM
Super User
Super User

Re: Export dataset from SAS university edition to excel

Use XLSX format instead of XLS format for the file. 

View solution in original post

All Replies
Community Manager

Don't give up! You probably do not need to know that much programming to accomplish what you need to in SAS.  You can post specific "How do I" questions in the SAS communities for help.