Learning SAS? Welcome to the exclusive online community for all SAS learners.

Creating a permanent sas data library on MAC

Contributor

Creating a permanent sas data library on MAC

Hi all,

I have SAS university edition on my mac machine..

I am traying to create a permanent SAS data library called SASINTRO.

In Virtual box, I chose MACHINE -> SETTINGS and added a new shared folder and given appropriate permissions to the folder myfoldres located under /Users/username/SASUniversityEdition on my mac machine,

I have written this code in sas studio program.

libName SASINTRO '/Users/username/SASUniversityEdition/myfolders';

But I am getting the following error.

43 libName SASINTRO '/Users/archanasudhir/SASUniversityEdition/myfolders';

ERROR: The path /Users/archanasudhir/SASUniversityEdition/myfolders is invalid because it is not in the list of accessible paths

when SAS is in the lockdown state.

ERROR: Error in the LIBNAME statement.

I am very new to SAS and hope I am not asking something silly.

Any suggestions will be highly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Archana

Valued Guide

Re: Creating a permanent sas data library on MAC

You have probably seen al lot of similar posts of people putting in C:\My documents\... and got the instruction to use the Linux path SAS is using.

This is similar like the that Windows one, do not use the Full MAC path but use the Linux path SAS is using.
If you follow the instruction for Windows people (that one is less confusing by \ ) you see what to do.

---->-- ja karman --<-----
New Contributor

I am having the same problem as discussed above.  Not clear what path needs to be used for mac.

SAS Super FREQ

Hi, Ramki. Just to get some basic facts: I assume you are using VirtualBox? Have you created the Shared Folder as described in Step 3 here:

http://support.sas.com/software/products/university-edition/docs/en/SASUniversityEditionQuickStartVi...