Learning SAS? Welcome to the exclusive online community for all SAS learners.

Can I have a desktop AND laptop SAS (University Ed.) application?

Accepted Solution Solved
New Contributor
Accepted Solution

Can I have a desktop AND laptop SAS (University Ed.) application?

I'm brand new to SAS and have the free university edition for Macs. I'm not clear if I can have two versions? I'm working with a tutor (as of today) and want to be able to Skype on my big desktop computer at home, versus the laptop which I will be using to work on SAS in class. 

Accepted Solutions
Solution
2 weeks ago
SAS Employee

Re: Can I have a desktop AND laptop SAS (University Ed.) application?

Hi @outspokenrn

Having SAS University Edition installed on both your laptop and your desktop is fine. Like Chris stated, there is a limited number of times SAS University Edition can be downloaded, which will not be an issue if you only download it twice. If you need to have the download count reset for your SAS Profile, you can request the reset from SAS Technical Support.

SAS University Edition does use a shared folder on your local machine though to access your files. If you want to use the same files in SAS Studio on your laptop and your desktop, you will have to have the sames files in your shared folder on the laptop and on your desktop. 

Happy learning!

View solution in original post

All Replies
Super Contributor

I'm pretty sure that's not a problem - I've had a copy on my desktop and a copy on my laptop (for when I'm on the road) almost since SAS UE was first released - as long as you're not using it for commercial purposes I'm sure SAS are fine with it.

Community Manager

[ Edited ]

Yeah, I don't think that's a problem.  The system will let you download it only so many times though, I think, so keep that in mind.  That limit can be reset if you run into trouble (as sometimes people do if the download doesn't complete).