BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
slolay
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi

I have been a pseudo-SAS programmer for the past 15 or so years. I am looking to sharpen my skillset and was wondering if there any online SAS projects that one can get involved in?

If not, then what is a good way to practice and learn by doing?

I would be grateful for any replies

Thanks

Steven

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Hi,

Well, free SAS Tutorials are here:

http://video.sas.com/#category/videos/how-to-tutorials

Editor's Note: Additional free tutorials are available on the SAS Users YouTube channel:

You can also get the SAS OnDemand for Academics for free to practice on, it's limited for learning.

There are also books out there. Personally I find learning by doing easiest, so going through all the above, then maybe set your self problems, or do the SAS Certification test.

@Reeza also offers this advice:

Maybe here's a better way. If I was hiring a SAS programmer here's what I wish they knew how to do...coming in the door Smiley Happy

1. Generate reports to Word or PDF directly - publication ready. This would be things like a Table for a journal publication with the standard deviation in brackets or plus/minus sign and the p-value.

2. Familiar with basic plots - SGPLOT at least and know that GTL exists even if not how to use it.

3. Simulation - How to simulate data for basic problems. Can you simulate a lottery draw of 5 numbers?

4. Excel. Excel. Excel. It's a pain, a thorn in the side of many analysts, but one that you'll have to deal with at some point. Can you import data, export data? Generate formatted output to Excel, see req #1

5. How to work with SAS date, datetime variables

6. Can you transform data - wide to long, long to wide?