BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
hello.

i am new to ODS and have spent too many work hours trying to solve this problem. any help would be greatly appreciated....

i am creating a codebook with a sas program with ods rtf. the program is a macro program which loops through macro variables. one data _null_ step is run for each variable in the dataset. in the rtf file, there are blank lines between the output generated from each data step. is there anyway to prevent these blank lines from appearing?

many, many thanks.
christine
4 REPLIES 4
sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
You may want to share code to get a more complete response.

Also, since the logic is macro-based, is there any reason for having a separate DATA _NULL_ step for each variable. At a minimum, you will have SAS-generated pagination if outputing to a PRINT-type file.

But if you are controlling a data file, there should be no extraneous lines generated unless data-wrap or possibly some additional PUTs to consider removing.

Lastly, examine the RTF code using a text edit session to validate what is actually being generating, when you mention "..blank lines between the output...".

Scott Barry
SBBWorks, Inc.
deleted_user
Not applicable
sorry for the confusion. i should have stated that there is only one data _null_ step but, for 99 variables, it is executed 99 separate times, utilizing different files for each execution.

i looked at the rtf file - and used the show/hide button. there is a new line indicator followed by another line with the text "=============Section Break (Continuous)====".

this is my first time using the sas discussion group. is there a way i can attach the output file?

many thanks for taking the time to read this.
christine
sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10