BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
mduarte
Quartz | Level 8

Hi - I have been using R for many years and have been especially happy with the ability to create reports or presentations using the Knitr package within RStudio without having to copy and paste code or results.  I have read about SASweave and StatRep but they don't seem on-par with R/RStudio as, from what I understand, one cannot debug the code from within Latex.  Another solution seems to be use SAS within RStudio - but given I already know R I cannot see that benefit.

Are users out there able to provide me with their workflows to incorporate SAS output in written reports and presentations, so any changes to the data or processing are automatically reflected in the reports and presentations? (I try to avoid copy and paste wherever I can ...)

* Is it at least possible to dynamically link charts to Microsoft Word / Powerpoint? and are there references on how best to do this?

* Is a solution to save the charts as .PNG and include in Latex?  (although this wouldn't allow me to display variable values / results in text..)

Note that I am using SAS Enterprise Guide. 

Thanks.

4 REPLIES 4
Reeza
Super User

SAS generates Powerpoints/PDF/RTF automatically.

Typically for my analysis, I'll generate the tables directly to RTF/Word files or PDF files as required.

You can search on lexjansen.com for sample code for reports/tables but the truth is there's so many different ways and SAS provides a ton of flexibility in incorporating your results into final products that I'm not even sure where to start.

I presented a paper a few years back on generating complex reports from SAS - it doesn't quite stand alone though:

http://www.sas.com/content/dam/SAS/en_ca/User%20Group%20Presentations/Edmonton-User-Group/FareezaKhu...

The reports are here, 132 reports with customized text, graphs, maps, etc.

http://www.health.alberta.ca/services/PHC-community-profiles.html

mduarte
Quartz | Level 8