BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
shellp55
Quartz | Level 8

Hello

I'm not even sure this is the right community so I apologize if I'm incorrect.

I have a dataset that I import into SAS.  The data is quite large with one line of data being a single patient visit. 

What I would like to do is export the data to Excel but where one patient visit is on one Excel worksheet in the format I require.  For example, in cell A2 I would like the word "chart number" and then the actual chart number to be in cell B2.  Diagnoses that are currently in wide format to be exported in long format with Diagnosis 1 thru 20 showing in column A with the diagnosis prefix in column C, diagnosis in column D etc.

Is it possible to map in this fashion with only having Base SAS?  Thanks very much. 

7 REPLIES 7
art297
Opal | Level 21

First two disclaimers:  (1) I am not an expert with the hash object and (2) I am not sure that I correctly understand what you are trying to do.

The following use the libname method, combined with the excel engine, to create a libname called "art" and an excel spreadsheet called "want".

Then, for some example data, it creates a file called "have" by taking sashelp.class, and renaming age, height and weight to be named diagnosis1, diagnosis2 and diagnosis3, respectively.

Then, it transposes the file creating a file called "long", that has the fields name, chart_number and diagnosis (there are 3 records for each patient).

Presuming that the result of long approximates the file you want to end up with, the code then uses a datastep to do two things.   First, since I didn't know how else to indicate a two-level within a hash object, I created a new variable called oname that was a concatenation of the string 'art.' and the patients' names.  Second, it indexes the records according to oname.

Finally, the code uses a hash to create separate worksheets for each patient, within the workbook