BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
KimLeBouton
Quartz | Level 8
I'm just beginning to use EXCELXP with PROC REPORT. I have tons of legacy detailed PROC REPORTs that I would like to keep intact--and so would my customers. Is there an easy way to get the summary lines of BREAK or RBREAK to work like the SUM statement in PROC PRINT?

TIA,
Kim LeBouton
4 REPLIES 4
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Kim:
I'm not sure what you mean...do you want the break lines from PROC REPORT to -look- or -be- more like the HEADERs (bigger font, diff colors, etc)?

The only difference that I see is the SUM line for PROC PRINT seems to be in the header style (when you use STYLES.DEFAULT) for PROC PRINT and the BREAK/RBREAK line seems to be in italic for PROC REPORT. This is easily changed.

PROC REPORT allows extensive formatting of EVERY report component -- LINES, SUMMARIES, CALL DEFINE, HEADERS, etc. (Well, PRINT and TABULATE do too...but you were asking about REPORT.) Test the following code.

** the code;[pre]
ods tagsets.excelxp file='c:\temp\testit.xls';
proc print data=sashelp.class noobs;
var name age height;
sum age height;
run;

proc report data=sashelp.class nowd
style(summary)=Header;
column name age height;
rbreak after /summarize;
run;
ods tagsets.excelxp close;
[/pre]

When I run that code, the summary lines look the same. If you meant something other than this can you give an example of what you mean by "to work like the SUM statement".
Thanks!
cynthia
KimLeBouton
Quartz | Level 8
I'm having to retrace my testing yesterday, but I ran a similar example, and the sum line with PROC PRINT produced the sum function in Excel. I must have downloaded a template (from the SAS site) that produced the traditional sum Excel. I haven't found the template yet.

I guest my new question is as follows: Can I produce an Excel sum function with PROC REPORT?

Your example does produce the same results.

Kim LeBouton
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Kim: