BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
megalopsuchos
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello and thanks for your help.  First of all, I am an administrator of SAS, among other things.

Our SAS environment is hosted on Windows 2012 and consists of 4 servers: 

Base/Foundation, Visual Analytics, MetaData and Middle-Tier.

Our SAS version is 9.4M3.

My most pressing need is to understand the best way to load data into memory and maintain the data in memory from Enterprise Guide to SAS Visual Analytics

Enterprise Guide uses the Base/Foundation Server for its processing and places generated datasets in a folder location on the Base/Foundation Server

There is an option in Enterprise Guide to load the datasets into Visual Analytics; however, the next time the LASR server is restarted, there is a possibility the tables may not reload in Visual Analytics<< this needs to be avoided and so far I've been relying on "ReloadOnStart" but SAS Support says that's a bad idea, and I agree

I've read on other threads and on user blogs of ways people have maintained datasets in memory from BI>VA. One of them mentioned writing a Windows script that moves datasets from Foundation/Base server to the SAS Autoload dropzone.

Another mentioned writing datasets to a "co-location," but did not specifically mention how to create, maintain a co-location. The SAS Base/Foundation server's dataset library is a shared network location.