BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
CG1
Calcite | Level 5 CG1
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am new in SAS, I executed one proc sql in SAS editor. below is the query

libname db oracle user=GDC password=GDC123 path=prod schema=SALES;

proc sql;
select sales_status,payment_status,datepart(last_order_dt) format=ddmmyy10.,individual_id, (date()-10) format=ddmmyy10.
from db.print_profile where individual_id=1045582 and datepart(last_order_dt)='18-dec-2014'd ;
quit; 

using above statement I am getting 80 rows in SAS editor output window.

Can anyone please suggest me how to export this output in Excel from SAS editor output window.

4 REPLIES 4
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Hi,

There are a number of methods to get data from SAS into Excel.  I would recommend creating a dataset from your SQL first however.

libname db oracle user=GDC password=GDC123 path=prod schema=SALES;
proc sql;
  create table WORK.RESULTS as
  select  SALES_STATUS
          ,PAYMENT_STATUS
          ,datepart(LAST_ORDER_DT) format=ddmmyy10.
          ,INDIVIDUAL_ID, 
          (date()-10) format=ddmmyy10.
  from    DB.PRINT_PROFILE 
  where   INDIVIDUAL_ID=1045582 
    and   datepart(LAST_ORDER_DT)='18-dec-2014'd ;
quit; 

ods tagsets.excelxp file="c:\example1.xml";
proc report data=work.results nownd; 
  columns _all_;
run;
ods tagsets.excelxp close;

proc export data=work.results outfile="c:\example2.xlsx";
run;

The above shows 2 examples of how to get data out.  The second I tend to avoid using however, proc import/export are guessing procedures, so you may not get what you expect.  With the tagsets, its not actually creating an Excel file, but XML which Excel can interpret.  This option allows you to specify formatting, styles, Excel options etc. and so is far more flexible than proc export.  If you have SAS 9.4, there is also the libname excel option (search for it if needed), which creates a libname directly to an Excel file.