BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
rgreen33
Pyrite | Level 9

I have been running the SAS Add-in for MS Office for a couple months now (our install is completely new - and I am new to SAS).  Over the past few days, I have noticed that updates have been applied to my Windows machine.  Today, I rebooted.  After the reboot, when I launch Outlook, I see the small pop-up window that shows a connection being made to my SAS profile.  Then, I get the following error:  SAS Add-in - Failed to create SAS Folders. 

Capture1.JPG

When I click "Close", Outlook continues to load without any other issues.  Once Outlook is up and running, I can navigate to the SAS tab.  If I click on SAS Central, nothing happens.  If I click on Gadget Pane, I can see my SAS server.  So, I am not sure what SAS Folders Outlook is failing to create.  I have searched the web for this error and I am finding nothing.  Any ideas?

By the way, the Add-in seems to be working fine in Excel and Word.

Thanks,

Ricky

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
fifthand57th
SAS Employee

The Windows 10 Anniversary update allows Windows users to overcome the 260 Windows path limit by editing the Windows Registry or Group Policy. See https://www.howtogeek.com/266621/how-to-make-windows-10-accept-file-paths-over-2

60-characters/

When the 260 character path limit is eliminated, Windows adds a \\?\ to the path of the SAS OMR.pst file in AMO in Outlook. This is visible in Outlook on the Data Files tab in Account Settings. NOTE: Our SAS Add-in debug log shows that the .pst file is created successfully and the path is correct (no \\?\ added to the front of the path).

Due to the \\?\ the SAS created .pst file cannot be loaded, a "Failed to create SAS Folders" error occurs. (Works fine in Excel, Word, and PowerPoint.)