An off-topic spot to chat about your musings of the day

Soft Skills Part 2 - Communication

Regular Contributor

Soft Skills Part 2 - Communication

Further to my post on Integrity, I was talking to a friend the other day and felt that the topic of skills in the "Toolbox" needed to be delved into more.  There are all sorts of tips, tricks, articles and videos on data analysis, data management and programming; but there are certain "soft" skills that need to be discussed as well.  One of these is effective communication, and I wanted to talk about it next because it ties in nicely with the Integrity piece.  

Communication obviously comes in many forms - speaking/listening, writing, body language, presenting, graphics/tables, and mastering these all is something that takes years (I'm still not comfortable giving presentations, even though I've been doing it for well over 30 years).

Being able to effectively communicate in any role involving data is vital, because you need to be able to explain your data, your methods, and your results to people who range from brand new novices right up to and including experienced statisticians.  

I'm going to briefly cover the first three in this post, and presentations and graphics/tables in future ones as I want to spend more time on those particular topics.

Speaking/Listening

These are the obvious forms of communication, but because they're obvious doesn't mean they should be taken for granted or that everyone is able to do them effectively.  When you're speaking, you have to ensure that the information is in tune with your audience.