An off-topic spot to chat about your musings of the day

How much maths & stats do i need to know to pursue a career in analytics?

New Contributor NMD
New Contributor

How much maths & stats do i need to know to pursue a career in analytics?

Hi Guys

I am new to analytics and SAS, i found out from friends about it & is something which interests me. So far i have done bit of sas programming & e-guide querring n reportng, no problems. Next course will be statistics 1.

I have been observing job descriptions for analytics type of roles n many are asking for background in statistics, maths, quantitative discipline etc

My strength is not in maths & statistics. I have studied maths till high school level & that also have forgotten over time as there was no use for it.

My question is to pursue a career in data analysis or analytics, do i need to have need to be strong in maths n stats? My concern is am i heading in the right direction or better off investing my energies in some other area in IT.

Any guidance will be much appreicated.

Thank you

NMD

Super User

Re: How much maths & stats do i need to know to pursue a career in analytics?

This is an opinion based question so you're going to get answers across the board.

My 2 cents is that if you only have high school math, it's unlikely you have the background for a full analytics career. You'll need to upgrade, so if that's within your plan then I'd consider it. You could also self train via Coursera - they have a good data science certificate program that's mostly free. Whether companies will value it as much as a University career I doubt. There's also all the bootcamps so you do have options. 

If your background is in comp sci, it would help, as a large portion is programming these days.  

I'm also assuming that you haven't covered linear algebra, random sampling, linear/logistic regression, and p-values in high school.

New Contributor NMD
New Contributor