An off-topic spot to chat about your musings of the day

10 things you may not know about me: Darth Pathos :-)

Regular Contributor

10 things you may not know about me: Darth Pathos :-)

[ Edited ]

I'm totally stealing this from the various SAS Employees that have posted a similar article.  What are your top 10 things people here don't know about you?

• University - I graduated from the University of Guelph (in Ontario, Canada) with a Bachelor of Applied Sciences (Honours) in Child Studies.  I had to take statistics as part of the program and was horrible at it – we had to do ANOVAs and regression using nothing more than pencil, paper and a regular calculator.  (University was also where I met my wife J)
  • I always struggled with math; it wasn’t until 2000, when I started doing analysis, that everything sort of “clicked” – I realized having the real-world application helped everything make sense.
  • My first job was as a working for Canada’s largest telecommunications company (Bell Canada) when I was 17. I worked 1530-2300 Monday to Friday.  Our job was to print off long distance records for all companies in Ontario and Quebec, staple them, and put them into a file folder. We had one printer between 5 of us, and I remember being all excited when one of us had a report larger than 8kb (yes, kilobytes) as that would take about 3 hours to print – and we couldn’t do anything else, so we went for dinner!
  • I started off in databases and data analysis completely by accident – I wanted to figure out a way to catalogue the huge number of journal articles I had from university, and a friend recommended using Access (I had Access 95) and so I started designing and building.