BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
guanf
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am a newbie in SAS data analyst position and tasked with SAS reporting from couple of databases through a local server, which we need to move it to a central IT server and build data warehouse. my SAS EG knowledge is very limited. I am wondering what kind of trainings I need to take step by step and speed up the learning curve? I have some SQL programming background.

1. should I get SAS EG1: Querying and Reporting first or SAS EG for Experienced SAS Programmers or should I get both? or I could take some free training course on this site for both?

2.does the free e-learning: SAS Programming 1: Essentials  equal to the course of SAS Programming 1: Essentials?

3. when should I start taking Data Integration, data mining course?

4. to move SAS from local server to a central server, what courses should I take? or what role should take what courses to help reach this goal?

Thanks a lot!

Fran

2 REPLIES 2
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

Whether you take the Enterprise Guide training or the SAS Programming 1 training, understanding how the SAS LIBNAME statement works (or Assign Project Library in EG) will be what you need to read your SAS tables and your database tables (assuming you have the right SAS/Access product for your database).

You would learn that in either Programming 1 or Enterprise Guide 1. I would not recommend EG for Experienced SAS Programmers, unless you are, in fact, an experienced SAS Programmer.

If you are performing analytic tasks (like ANOVA and Regression), then after either of the above courses, you would take the appropriate ANOVA/Regression course (either the programming version of Statistics 1 or the EG version of Statistics 1).

The difference in e-learning is that the only free e-learning courses are Programming 1 and Statistics 1 -- the programming e-learning classes -- not the Enterprise Guide version of the training.