BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
eubankm
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to sas programming and am having difficulty trying to perform a certain function.  I want to generate 4 random numbers from a given range, without replacement, based on given probabilities that each number will be chosen, and I want to perform 2000 repetitions of this.  I have been searching trying to find a way to do this, however everywhere just says to put rand("normal") or rand("uniform") but this will not perform my intended task.  I also know the theta and sigma for each of the 4 numbers based on 1800 actual past observations.  Any help on how I might perform this would be great.

Thanks

p.s. I am using sas university edition

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

If I may offer some friendly advice, I suggest

1. Talk to your advisor/professor.  He/She wants you succeed.

2. Consider changing to the model I proposed. In that model, you would count how many times each ball has EVER appeared (regardless of whether it was the first, second, ... or fifth ball).  That is a standard probability model in which the probability of drawing each ball is constant and the draws are independent.

If you attempt the simpler project, it will still be challenging and you will still learn a lot about SAS programming and simulation. However, the simpler problem will be more tractable for someone with your level of experience.

Good luck!

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
ballardw
Super User

What kind of range you do need, provide some example.

What is your theta supposed to represent from which distribuion? if from a Normal distribution you can specify the parameter

x=rand('NORMAL',theta,sigma); if theta is your mean and sigma the standard deviation that you want have your sample represented from.

There is also rand('TABLE'). You provide a list of probabilities.