BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
cvan-hull
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, I am very new to programming in SAS. I have a relatively simple problem that I haven't been able to solve. I  want to log transform >1000 variables.  I'm trying to use a sas macros to

a)  generate a list of all the variables that I want to transform

b) calculate the transformed variable and call them prefix.oldvarname.

I used the following script to create a list of variable names (vlist) but apparently its just an array of text and not a list of variables.  Any suggestions?  Thanks.

%macro getvars(dsn);
    %global vlist;
    proc sql;
        select name into :vlist separated by ' '
        from dictionary.columns
        where memname = upcase("&dsn") and TYPE="num";
    quit;
%mend;

5 REPLIES 5
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

You can create a table with the variable names instead of a macro variable, and then use call execute to create dynamic code off that table.

@cvan-hull wrote:

Hi, I am very new to programming in SAS. I have a relatively simple problem that I haven't been able to solve. I  want to log transform >1000 variables.  I'm trying to use a sas macros to

a)  generate a list of all the variables that I want to transform

b) calculate the transformed variable and call them prefix.oldvarname.

I used the following script to create a list of variable names (vlist) but apparently its just an array of text and not a list of variables.  Any suggestions?  Thanks.

%macro getvars(dsn);
    %global vlist;
    proc sql;
        select name into :vlist separated by ' '
        from dictionary.columns
    quit;
%mend;

Astounding
PROC Star

With 1,000 variables, your transformation code would likely fit into a single macro variable.  (If most variable names are lengthy, there could be a problem since macro variables have an upper limit on length.)  Instead of this:

select name into : ...............................

Put all the rest of the formula into your selection: