BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Amar
Calcite | Level 5

hi sas gurus

i am completely new to sas and excel plugin

we currently have a 5 reports using the same olap cube but with different filters. finally when all these 5 reports are run, we create a final excel sheet using data from all these 5 excel sheets.

basically the user wants to automate the process.

any ideas would be appreciated to point me in the right direction.

9 REPLIES 9
Haikuo
Onyx | Level 15

Not sure what do you mean by automation? If it is 100% automation in my book, then I will run a batch job.

We have similar scenarios that we leverage Stored Process to process Cubes, then generate reports. You will still need EG to script STPs, then Add-in can take from there.

Haikuo

Amar
Calcite | Level 5

hi

thanks for your reply

what i mean is that we use the same cube and set different filters and export different views of that cube into excel.

then we finally create one excel sheet, that is final result.

now i dont know much, but i was thinking about creating vbscripts to automatically connect to sas cube and get results and format it.

is this approach even possible.

Haikuo
Onyx | Level 15

I knew little to nothing about MDX, so I won't attempt to use VBscripts to call for it, but if you do, I think it could be a viable approach.

This is what I would do:

Repeating all of the procedures involving the cube (filters, slices, different views, exporting to excel etc.) in EG, then use the EG generated code to make your own Stored Process. You can fire up your Stored Process using SAS Microsoft Add-in from within Excel. Mission accomplished. Fairly straightforward and painless.

I myself used to be a hardcore old school Base programmer, and now I am a slacker, it is all EG's fault. LOL.

Good Luck,

Haikuo

stat_sas
Ammonite | Level 13

If you want to export output automatically from SAS to Excel in different sheets then this may be helpful

ODS TAGSETS.EXCELXP

FILE='C:\test.xls'

STYLE=minimal