BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Chang
Quartz | Level 8

I am a SAS programmer who has low tolerance of code that is not neatly formatted. I make so much effort in indenting my code that it can be read easily. My own computer is English-version 64bits Windows 7 with SAS 9.3. I find out my indentation changes when the progam is opened in another computer that uses Chinese-version 64bits Windows 7 and SAS 9.4. This computer has both SAS 9.3 and SAS 9.4 installed. The indentation change is seen whether the program is opened in SAS 9.3 or SAS 9.4. How can I remedy this? Does it have something to do with encoding?

I am not sure why the image insertion button did not insert a jpg. Please go to the following link to see the indentation change.

http://likecoded.com/indentation-of-sas-code-changes-when-the-same-program-is-opened-in-a-chinese-wi...

Thanks

7 REPLIES 7
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Thats because you are using the tab key to indent.  Tab is a special character in the character set, and is interpreted to mean different widths in different applications.  The rule of thumb is to not use tab character, but to set indent levels, say 2 spaces.  SAS editor has a function inbuilt which will put two spaces rather than tab char when tab is pressed, so you get the same functionality, but as they are spaces they are the same width in any application.  To do this, open SAS and click in the Enhanced Editor window.  Now select tools->Options->Enhanced Editor.  Half way down is a section call Tabs.  Select insert spaces for tabs, and set how many (i would suggest 2).

NOte, with regards to your picture of the differences, this is the style setup on the system.  Under the same menu option as the tabs, select appearance, you can set bold/underline etc. as you want.

Patrick
Opal | Level 21