BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
j4sanford
Calcite | Level 5

So I am a novice at SAS computations, yet have managed to run most of my statistics no problem until now;  I have encountered interaction effects in my analysis. I am utilizing a weighted dataset and was told I need to create flag variables to stratify my data for sex and race. Hoping someone here can help me know how the coding should look? It also has a PSU, and a Stratum variable on top of the weight variable. I have no idea how to create flag variables though. I am also using logistic regression so I need to know how to create the flag variable and then run a logistic regression so that I can get odds ratios for each stratified varible(sex, and all the different races). If this helps I am also utilizing the CDC's YRBS, which is a free dataset available to all, if anyone here feels so inclined to attempt on their own.

18 REPLIES 18
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Many SAS procedure don't need "flag variables", by which I assume you mean categorical levels of a variable (not numeric levels of a variable). So if you need to perform analyses by sex and race, these are handled in SAS by categorical variables.

For example, if you are using PROC GLM or PROC GLIMMIX (or many other procedures), you simply put the categorical variables into a CLASS statement.

So, is that what you mean? And what do you mean by PSU? (Pennsylvania State University? Or something else?)

--
Paige Miller
j4sanford
Calcite | Level 5