BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
alandool
Quartz | Level 8

I'm new to DS2, but learning.  We would like to use DS2 to cut down on processing time for certain processes we run.  From some simple testing, I'm finding a DS2 threaded process runs slower and takes almost twice as long than if I use PROC SQL.  This is the case even though I can see that DS2 uses several thread processes.  I find this quite puzzling since I had hoped DS2 would run faster.  Any input / comments why DS2 is running slower?   Query and logs below.

/* proc sql for comparing to ds2 thread step below -- basically copying a compressed dataset */
proc sql;
create table lib1.ds2_test_procsql as
select segment, region, state, MBR_ENRLMNT_CNT from lib1.final;

NOTE: Table LIB1.DS2_TEST_PROCSQL created, with 35811639 rows and 4 columns.

NOTE: PROCEDURE SQL used (Total process time):
real time 2:04.90
user cpu time 54.25 seconds
system cpu time 7.44 seconds
memory 6290.06k
OS Memory 28840.00k
Timestamp 05/17/2018 08:43:26 AM
Step Count 39 Switch Count 284
Page Faults 0
Page Reclaims 163
Page Swaps 0
Voluntary Context Switches 3487
Involuntary Context Switches 33598
Block Input Operations 0
Block Output Operations 0

/* ds2 thread steps */
proc ds2;
thread newton/overwrite=yes;
dcl double y count;
dcl bigint thisThread;
drop count y thisThread;

method run();
set {select segment, region, state, MBR_ENRLMNT_CNT from lib1.final};
thisThread= _threadid_;
count+1;
end;

method term();
put '**Thread' _threadid_ 'processed' count 'rows:';
end;
endthread;
run;
quit;

proc ds2;
data lib1.ds2_test_thread / overwrite=yes;
dcl thread newton frac;

method run();
set from frac threads=4;
end;
enddata;
run;
quit;

**Thread 1 processed 4086810 rows:
**Thread 0 processed 4037670 rows:
**Thread 3 processed 13699140 rows:
**Thread 2 processed 13988019 rows:
NOTE: Execution succeeded. 35811639 rows affected.

NOTE: PROCEDURE DS2 used (Total process time):
real time 3:47.06
user cpu time 1:49.49
system cpu time 15.59 seconds