BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
suraj
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello,

I am an analyst working on SAS (9.4) in a UNIX environment. My firm wants to move all jobs to run on grid server rather than on a local server. Can you please help me this. What all activities required to perform from programming prespective to have these jobs succesfully migrated to GRID server.

We have SAS admin he will be taking care of all other stuff. I just wants to check on programming prespective what i needs to learn. Thanks!

Regards,

Suraj

3 REPLIES 3
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@suraj

"I am an analyst working on SAS (9.4) in a UNIX environment. My firm wants to move all jobs to run on grid server rather than on a local server."

If your SAS workspace server is already under UNIX then I assume you're already working in a client-server environment and not really with a local server. I'd assume that also the Grid environment will be under Unix/Linux.

If the path names don't change in your new environment then assume that all your code will just run as before without any changes required. Same is true for your coding: likely no change required. 

Where you eventually want to skill-up to take full advantage of new capabilities:

1. New SAS modules in the new environment which you want to take advantage of.

2. Grid enabled processing running your code in parallel spread over multiple grid nodes.

Some of the SAS clients allow you already to run tasks grid enabled simply by setting options. Search in the client speficic Help with keyword "grid".

Here a link as starting point: 

https://support.sas.com/rnd/scalability/grid/gridfunc.html

But in general: Expect the new environment to be already configured from start for load balancing and high availability without you having to take any further steps. Only if it's about speeding up long running tasks spend some extra time to further grid enable these on a task level.

suraj
Obsidian | Level 7

Thanks Patrick  for you reply.