BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
StefB
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all,

I am VERY new to SAS.  As in got thrown into it this week for a work project.  In excel I could format a birth date into a number.  Can I do that in SAS?  If so, how?  Thanks in advance for any help!

-Stef

8 REPLIES 8
antonbcristina
SAS Employee

Can you post an example of a birth date you have and what you'd like it to look like? 

StefB
Calcite | Level 5

The birth date is posted as 5/19/1978

Thank you!

antonbcristina
SAS Employee

And how would you like it to look?

StefB
Calcite | Level 5

So in excel if I were to format 5/19/1981 into a number it would be 29725.  I do know that Excel formats the number based off Jan 1, 1900. 

antonbcristina
SAS Employee

Ok, I'm guessing the birth date you have already is stored as a character string. What you could do is create a new variable that stores the numeric version of the character string. SAS stores dates numerically as the number of days since January 1st, 1960. To convert your character date (say bday_c) into a numeric one (say bday_n), you can use the following:

bday_n = input(bday_c,mmddyy.);

The INPUT function is used here, which has two arguments: a character string and an informat. The informat MMDDYY specifies that SAS should read the character string as having the month first (mm), then the day (dd), and finally the year (yy).

StefB
Calcite | Level 5

I will try this! Thank you!

ballardw
Super User

@StefB wrote:

So in excel if I were to format 5/19/1981 into a number it would be 29725.  I do know that Excel formats the number based off Jan 1, 1900. 

For an entertaining result in Excel type 0 (zero) into a cell. Then format the cell as a date. Excel will treat the value as "1/0/1900" or "

Saturday, January 00, 1900

SAS dates are usable from 1581 through the year 20,000 though the currently supplied date formats don't like years past 9999.

Reeza
Super User