clustering analysis in SAS/Procedure with SAS code

New Contributor

clustering analysis in SAS/Procedure with SAS code

Hi Everyone,

I'm fairly new to clustering, especially in SAS and needed some help on clustering analysis.

I have a dataset of 4 variables - Game title, Genre, Platform and Average Sales. The dataset contains 6,740 cases.  Game title, Genre and Platform are categorical variables, whereas Average Sales is numeric. Since the number of game titles is exhaustive, I've only created a Dummy variable for Genre and Platform. Plus, game titles is the variable I want to cluster here.

Can someone help me understand how I would need to go about clustering this dataset into meaningful clusters, as well as an idea on how to go about profiling them too? I've done an exhaustive search on trying to understand the most straight forward step-by-step (with SAS code) to do this but mostly everything isn't very conclusive at all.

Would really appreciate some help here please.

Thanks

AK

Super User

Re: clustering analysis in SAS/Procedure with SAS code

I suspect you might get better results if you had price and total number of sales instead of average sales:

I would start with FASTCLUS

proc fastclus data=have out=want cluster=ClusterId maxclusters = ? ;

id GameTitle;

var genre platform;

weight  AverageSales; /* I think it makes more sense to look at the average as a weighting variable if it is a mean currency value, otherwise use on the VAR statement*/

run;

Generally start with a "guess" as to how many clusters you want to deal with. This would depend on how you want to use this. Then generate different output sets with values around that initial to see how many products change behaviors.

New Contributor

Hi ballardw,

Thanks for the inputs here.