BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jdmarshg
Obsidian | Level 7

I'm fairly new to using SAS DI and using base SAS code.

One thing when researching about coding practices but I still find to be quite inconsistent is when and where to use single quotes and double quotes.

For example one macro variable that I created (parameter) I use double quotes within an openquery.

The other macro variable sends back and error but still populates the database.

Can anyone send me some links and or documentation to resolve this in my mind of best practice?

Here is the query below:

(SELECT column FROM OPENQUERY(MYSQL, 'select datetime from ''&thisdoesnotwork'' where datasetname="&thisresolvesandworks" and Status = "Done" order by rowiddesc limit 1'));

I receive an error from the first macro variable embedded......

This query gets passed through sqlserver to mysql.

5 REPLIES 5
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Macro expressions are NOT evaluated inside of single quotes.  For that you need to use double quotes.  Note that if you have complex strings with quotes nested inside of other quotes it is the outer quotes that determine whether SAS will evaluate the macro expression.

Try these examples:

%let x=Value ;

%put '&x';

%put "&x";

%put 'The value of x is "&x".' ;

%put "The value of x is '&x'." ;

Another rule is that to include the quote character itself in the string you need to double it.

%put "The value of x is ""&x""." ;

Also watch out for the rules imposed by database system that you are passing the query to.  SAS does not care whether you quote strings with single or double quotes, but some database systems do care.  For example Teradata uses single quotes for character literals and uses double quotes for names.

art297
Opal | Level 21

: While I agree with what you said, I really have to question whether the filename in the from clause should have been quoted at all.

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User