Window's Task Scheduler and %sysget Error

Accepted Solution Solved
Contributor
Accepted Solution

Window's Task Scheduler and %sysget Error

I am using Windows task scheduler to automatically run a large warehouse process (.bat file). The program executes as scheduled but there are errors when it runs as detailed by the log (no errors when run manually). The error that I am receiving is "the argument to macro function %SYSGET is not defined as a system variable." I can successfully run a simpler test program that only has one data step. Do I need to add a windows Environment Variable? I am by no means an expert when it comes to dealing with operating systems so please bear with me. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you,

Daniel

Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎06-18-2015 10:52 AM
Super User
Super User

Re: Window's Task Scheduler and %sysget Error

That environment variable is set by the Enhanced Editor when using SAS on Windows.  It will NOT be set when running a program in some other environment.

Try %sysfunc(getoption(sysin)) instead.

View solution in original post

All Replies
Grand Advisor

Not Sure. Try

%sysfunc(sysget( SAS_EXECFILENAME )) ;

Contributor

I receive an error that the function is out of range when I try the above. Is there a character limit on %sysget? The problem seems to occur when I am referencing an external sas file via the %include command. Can I change system options somewhere to allow for longer strings?

Super User
Super User

What environment variable are you trying to retrieve using SYSGET?

Where do you think it is being set?

Most likely the set of environment variables that are created when the scheduled job is run are different than what you see when you use SAS normally.

Try using this data step to see what environment variables exist.

data _null_;

infile 'set' pipe ;

input;

put _infile_;

run;

Contributor