BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
anikhana
Calcite | Level 5

Hello All, 

This is my first post and i am new in Sas programming.I just started reading Sas a week ago for my class and i am confused with so many ways we can read raw data.My question is how to know which input method to use for read a raw data.How do we know when to use list input, column input or formatted input. Is there a particular way to figure it out or its just more practice.

Thanks in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
Programming 1 is our free introductory class, when you activate the e-learning version of the class. We explain reasons for using different techniques in the class.

The bottom line is that you have to know what the structure of your raw data file looks like, is it space delimited? is it tab delimited? is it comma delimited? is the data in fixed columns? is the data standard or non-standard? do you need to use read the data a special way? do you have date values? All of these things can factor into the method you use to read the data.

You can activate the free Programming 1 class by clicking the link at the top of this page
https://support.sas.com/edu/elearning.html?ctry=us&productType=library
(you will have to log onto your SAS Profile to complete the activation process).

cynthia

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
Programming 1 is our free introductory class, when you activate the e-learning version of the class. We explain reasons for using different techniques in the class.