BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.

All, 

I am new to SAS and still exploring the basics. However, I have a conceptual question that people might have previously run into. Would appreciate if the community members guide me in the right direction. 

If I develop an algorithm in SAS - can this logic be exported out of SAS for use by other applications  ?

For e.g. I can generate .exe or SQL Stored procedures for my logic in many languages. I would like to see an exhaustive list of all the formats if any that SAS logic can be exported. 

Appreciate all the help

Best 
Uday 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

Going by distant, hazy recollection ...

I believe that Enterprise Miner can output scoring code in PMML.  For what it's worth, of course.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Reeza
Super User

That depends. If it's a statistical type model there is some functionality for that, but SAS is designed for Statistical Analysis (Statistical Analysis Software), it's not designed to create standalone applications and I wouldn't recommend using it for that. In general, you'll need whoever wants to use your algorithm to also have SAS installed.

@UdayGuntupalli wrote:

All, 

I am new to SAS and still exploring the basics. However, I have a conceptual question that people might have previously run into. Would appreciate if the community members guide me in the right direction. 

If I develop an algorithm in SAS - can this logic be exported out of SAS for use by other applications  ?

For e.g. I can generate .exe or SQL Stored procedures for my logic in many languages. I would like to see an exhaustive list of all the formats if any that SAS logic can be exported. 

Appreciate all the help

Best 
Uday 

ballardw
Super User

Generally not if I understand your question.