Variance parameter estimates in proc mixed

Occasional Contributor

Variance parameter estimates in proc mixed

Hi all,

I'm new to using proc mixed, and I have a fwe basic questions regarding the output and differences in procedure.

I have a two-level model in order to account for clustering of individual subjects within groups. I am interested in obtaining independent estimates of the between, within, and total variances so that I can calculate effect sizes for a trial.

The first question regards the output of the covariance parameters. As all the guidance documents note, I'm seeing two parameters: 1) an intercept parameter that corresponds to the cluster variable I have identified as the "subject" in my random statement; 2) the residual. My understanding is that the intercept is the between cluster variance, the residual is the within cluster variance, and the total variance can be obtained by summing these two. Can someone confirm or deny that?  My for this procedure is of the following form:

proc mixed;

class clustervar;

model outcome = ;

random intercept /subject= clustervar;

run;

My second question regards whether it is common practice to include a treatment effect and covariates (or predictors in general) when computing variances or intra-class correlation coefficients (ICC) using proc mixed. I have seen it done with and without the inclusion of such variables in online documentation. My sense is that, if one just wants to get variance or ICC for a particular outcome, you wouldn't model a treatment effect in that calculation. Obviously, the results are quite different using and not predictors. An example code for doing so would be:

proc mixed;

class clustervar;

model outcome = treatment;

random intercept /subject= clustervar;

run;

I appreciate any help anyone can give on this matter. Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Devin Peipert

Respected Advisor

Re: Variance parameter estimates in proc mixed