BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
soontobeexpert
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello Everyone,

I have a unique problem and need some help. I need to create a SAS script that opens an excel workbook, selects everything, copies it, and then pastes it all as values, saves it, then closes it.

Fairly straight forward although I have limited experience working with Excel from SAS.

I wont get into the details too much, but we use this excel file to load another application, and some of my values (labels mostly) are coming out in Excel with " " quotes around them.

The simplest solution is to have a short script at the end that just copy and pastes the values into the same workbook.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Below is a starting point, but does not do what I want. The code below opens a workbook, selects a specific tab of a work sheet, saves then closes. I need it to copy and paste values then save and close. Its a starting point anyway, but Im out my depth here... Thanks!

%macro Selecting_Excel_Sheet (Analyst);

data _null_;

length script filevar $256;

script = catx('\',pathname('WORK'),'PasteIt.vbs');

filevar = script;

script="'"||'cscript "'||trim(script)||'"'||"'";

call symput('script',script);

file dummy1 filevar=filevar recfm=v lrecl=512;

put 'Dim objExcel';

put 'Dim OldBook';

put 'set objExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")';

script=catt('Set OldBook=objExcel.Workbooks.Open("',"&FilePath.\&Analyst. &Year.Q&Quarter. FFA.xlsx",'")');

put script;

put 'OldBook.Sheets("Income").Select';

put 'OldBook.Sheets("Investment").Select';

put 'objExcel.DisplayAlerts = False';

put 'OldBook.Save';

put 'OldBook.Close';

put 'objExcel.DisplayAlerts = True';

put 'objExcel.Quit';

run;

data _null_;

call system(&script.);

run;

7 REPLIES 7
Shmuel
Garnet | Level 18

SAS enables read excel worksheets into sas dataset (importing the data) or

write it into excel sheets (exporting).

It is not clear what do you mean by copy/paste the values ?