BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
System
Calcite | Level 5

I am a student and I have just installed SAS on my computer. I have been getting errors when I try to open a SAS file. I have found an error note which seems related to my problem:

Usage Note 4440: Error: User does not have appropriate authorization level for library WORK

The following error message may occur when running SAS with the wrong

umask setting for the user's WORK directory:

ERROR: User does not have appropriate authorization level for library

WORK.

FATAL: Unable to initialize the options subsystem.

(SASXKINI): PHASE 3 KERNEL INITIALIZATION FAILED.

UNABLE TO INITIALIZE THE SAS KERNEL

This error occurs because the umask settings for ROOT and the user do

not match. By default, ROOT has a umask setting of 022 for all

directories. If a user does not have at least group write authority they

will not be able to write output to the WORK directories.

To circumvent this problem, make sure that the userid also has a umask

of 022 or another setting that includes write authority for the group

However, I do not understand what I am supposed to do now. Can someone please give a step by step guide on fixing this problem?

24 REPLIES 24
ballardw
Super User

Is this the University Edition? If so and you're running on a Windows platform the virtual machine settings may be the issue.

If that is not the exact error you are receiving then post exact error text and what you did to get the message. Which method were you using to open a file and what type of file? Program code, process, command line, point and click?

System
Calcite | Level 5

I think I may be running the University edition as I did receive it from my university. I am not sure what virtual machine settings are. I am trying to open a .sas7bdat file. The message is

ERROR: User does not have appropriate authorization level for library WORK.

ERROR: Path: C:\Users\Kevin\AppData\Local\Temp\SAS Temporary

ERROR: Files\_TD5484_KEVIN-PC_.