Unzipping multiple files, performing operations, then deleting

Occasional Contributor

Unzipping multiple files, performing operations, then deleting

Hello all,

I am new to SAS, and I am using very large data sets on a computer with a small amount of space. I have 21 zipped data sets in one folder and they have the names Hospital Inpatient_1989-Hospital Inpatient_2010. My goal is to create a data set of summary statistics (which works for an individual data set), but I need to get the combined summary statistics for all data sets. However, since I have limited space, what I need to do is unzip a data set, then perform some operations on it (which cuts the variables down from about 200 to 7), then (I think) append each data set to a temporary file that is originally blank, and then delete the unzipped data set off of the computer. This needs to repeat for each zipped data set so that there is one temporary file with all of the data sets together (with of course the operations performed on them) and the folder in my directory is the same as before the operation (which is just the zipped files).

So I believe it should look something like:

1) Define macro or loop that will go through all data sets

2) Unzip file using something like

x " ""C:\Program Files\WinZip\WINZIP32.EXE"" ""C:\...\Hospital Inpatient_1989"" ";

3) Perform some operations

4) append using something like

proc append base = inpatient_all data = test;

run;

5) Delete unzipped data set

I am fine with 3) and 4), and I think I can figure out 2), so I mainly need help with just defining the macro to go through all the data sets and how to delete them off of my computer afterwards. Also, if this doesn't seem like a logical way to go about this that would be great to know.

Thanks so much for any help you can give! I am happy to give as much additional specific information as I can if it would be helpful.

Brandon

Super User
Super User