BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Vinz867
Fluorite | Level 6

I am a newbie with SAS. I need help in understanding the code below. Thank you!

PROC SUMMARY DATA=testdat.Input

CLASS CUSIP Date;

VAR PRCE;

OUTPUT OUT=testdat.range_all range=range_all n=countall ;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

The code is missing a semi colon on the first line and missing a RUN; at the end. See the comments in the code below that helps to explain what it's doing. If you have further questions please post back. 

PROC SUMMARY DATA=testdat.Input; *specify to run a summary procedure on the data set INPUT;

CLASS CUSIP Date; *Group the summaries by CUSIP and DATE;

VAR PRCE; *Summarize the variable PRCE;

OUTPUT OUT=testdat.range_all range=range_all n=countall ; *output the results to a dataset called range_all, the statistics being calculated are the RANGE and N(count). The RANGE is stored in a variable called range_all and the count is stored in countall;

Run;

@Vinz867 wrote:

CLASS CUSIP Date;

VAR PRCE;

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Reeza
Super User

The code is missing a semi colon on the first line and missing a RUN; at the end. See the comments in the code below that helps to explain what it's doing. If you have further questions please post back. 

PROC SUMMARY DATA=testdat.Input; *specify to run a summary procedure on the data set INPUT;

OUTPUT OUT=testdat.range_all range=range_all n=countall ; *output the results to a dataset called range_all, the statistics being calculated are the RANGE and N(count). The RANGE is stored in a variable called range_all and the count is stored in countall;

Run;

@Vinz867 wrote:

CLASS CUSIP Date;

VAR PRCE;

Vinz867
Fluorite | Level 6

When you say summarize the variance PRCE, is it summing up the prices based on the CUSIP and date?

@Reeza wrote:

Run;

@Vinz867 wrote:

CLASS CUSIP Date;